Shane Maloney is the creator of the popular Australian crime novel series – the Murray Whelan novels: Stiff, The Brush-Off, Nice Try, The Big Ask, Something Fishy, and Sucked In. He’s also the scribe of the long running Encounters column in The Monthly magazine.

The Brush-Off won the Ned Kelly Prize for Crime Fiction in 1996. It was shortlisted for the Premier’s Literary Award, and set as an English text for Victorian secondary students. Nice Try was a nominee for the Age Book of the Year in 2000.

In 2004, Stiff and The Brush-Off were adapted for the screen by John Clarke and made into movies with David Wenham in the role of Murray Whelan. Stiff was directed by Clarke and The Brush-Off by Sam Neill. They both rated extremely well, causing considerable confusion at the Seven Network who immediately shelved plans for further adaptions.

In 2009, Shane was presented with the Crime Writers’ Association of Australia Lifetime Achievement Award.


Mark Twain described Australia’s history as reading like the most beautiful of lies. He didn’t know the half of it.